embed embed2
  • Philippine Holidays 2019

    There are only six long weekends to look forward to in 2019, so start planning your vacation now!
    by Rachel Perez .
Philippine Holidays 2019
PHOTO BY iStock
To read this story in Tagalog, click here.
  • Start plotting your next family vacation, babymoon, or even your nth honeymoon! Now is the time to score cheap flights and deals for the family. 

    Proclamation No. 555, which declared the regular holidays and nine special non-working holidays for 2019, came straight from the Malacañang Palace.

    Below is the list of Philippine holidays for 2019:

    2019 Philippine Regular Holidays

    • New Year’s Day - January 1, Tuesday
    • Araw ng Kagitingan - April 9, Tuesday
    • Maundy Thursday - April 18
    • Good Friday - April 19
    • Labor Day - May 1, Wednesday
    • Independence Day - June 12, Wednesday
    • National Heroes Day - August 26, last Monday of August
    • Bonifacio Day - November 30, Saturday
    • Christmas Day - December 25, Wednesday
    • Rizal Day - December 30, Monday
    What other parents are reading

    2019 Philippine Special Non-working Holidays

    • Chinese New Year - February 5, Tuesday
    • EDSA People Power Revolution Anniversary - February 25, Monday
    • Black Saturday - April 20
    • National Elections - May 13, Monday
    • Ninoy Aquino Day - August 21, Wednesday
    • All Saints Day - November 1, Friday
    • Feast of the Immaculate Conception - December 8, Sunday
    • Last Day of the Year - December 31, Tuesday
    ADVERTISEMENT - CONTINUE READING BELOW

    Additional Special Holidays
    All Souls Day – November 2, Saturday
    Christmas Eve – December 24, Tuesday

    Not yet included in the list are the moveable holidays Eidul Fitr in June (around June 4 to 6) and Eidul Adha in August (around August 11 and 12). The dates of these two Islamic holidays vary so it will be announced once they have been determined by the National Commission on Muslim Filipinos (NCMF). 

    CONTINUE READING BELOW
    Recommended Videos
    What other parents are reading

    So far, there are only six long weekends to look forward to: New Year, EDSA Anniversary, Holy Week, National Heroes Day, All Saints' Day, and Rizal Day. Only the New Year (if you count the holidays before January 1), the Holy Week, and Rizal Day and New Year weekends are more than three days. 

    The way we see you can add days to your family vacations by file a leave of absence on December 23 (you never know the government might declare it as a holiday, too!). You can also submit a leave of absence on the Mondays that fall before the Chinese New Year and Araw ng Kagitingan to add to your 2019 long weekends.

    ADVERTISEMENT - CONTINUE READING BELOW

    The long weekends are few and short. Some regular holidays fall on a Wednesday, such as Labor Day, Independence Day, and Ninoy Aquino's Day. Bonifacio Day falls on a Saturday, while The Feast of the Immaculate Conception falls on a Sunday. 

    What other parents are reading

View More Stories About
Trending in Summit Network
View more articles