If you are one of the many Facebook users who got tagged by someone you don't know in a porn post, don't click or tap. It's a scam, according to a tech expert.
The malicious tagging malware was first reported in 2015 and reemerged recently, this time using lewd photos as bait.
Just don't click it, said veteran tech editor Art Samaniego. If you clicked it, don't download the player that it is asking you to install on your device, he said.
"Ang ginagawa ng malicious tagging, ita-tag ka n'ya tapos pornographic materials or videos ang kunyari nakalagay pero 'pag kinlick mo ito, dadalhin ka n'ya sa isang fake na website at sasabihing kailangan mong mag-download ng app o program para mapanood mo 'yung video," he said on Facebook.
The Office of Cybercrime at the Department of Justice said it received confirmation from Facebook that the page associated with the malicious tagging "has been removed and its administrators were sanctioned." It encouraged the public to report similar incidents.
So, you got spammed
Spam is unsolicited content, including bulk messages, post links or images, and friend requests from people you don't know. This includes malicious posts circulating online.
This most recent tagging scam aims to capture the user's Facebook log-in and password and other sensitive information like bank details. This happens when the user who clicks on the spam link downloads the "player," Samaniego said.
According to Samaniego, strangers are using enticing materials like porn to tempt tagged Facebook users to supposedly download a Flash player on their device, which would then capture their Facebook log-in username and password, and other sensitive information like bank account details.
This story originally appeared on reportr.world.
*Minor edits have been made by the SmartParenting.com.ph editors.